Monday, 7 July 2008

Philip leads Welsh LibDem Euro challenge

The Welsh Liberal Democrat European result was:

1. Alan Butt Philip

2. Kevin O’Connor

3. Nick Tregoning

4. Jackie Radford

Alan Butt Philip therefore stands an excellent chance of getting in to the European Parliament next year. Based on the 2007 Regional Assembly Election, an election that resembles the European Elections in its proportionality, the Welsh Liberal Democrats need only a 2.45% swing from Labour to take the fourth seat. Taking the constituency vote, the swing required drops to less than 1%. If turnout at the 2005 General Election were repeated, the Welsh Liberal Democrats would win the seat comfortably.

Chris Davies and Graham Watson, as English Liberal Democrat MEPs, are already working hard to uncouple the European gravy train. A MEP from Wales should soon be ready to assist their efforts.

More details at the Welsh web-site.

Sorry to see South Wales West's Nick Tregoning and Jackie Radford tailed off.

No comments: